Light-O-Rama Forums

NEW to RGB and have a few questions

crny1

Hello,

I am looking to get into the RGB world in a unique way but am confused a little. I have used and programmed the regular 16 channel boards for strings of lights with ease. Here is what I am looking to do and would like some experienced opinions on the best way of doing it. 

First off let me start off by saying I am a manager of a amusement company and we are looking to make a RGB circle sign. Imagine a giant ferris wheel with a 82" round sign in the middle of it. We want to use this circle as a sign for special effects and advertising. I know there will be LOTS of programming involved. This way we can advertise our company name and also the fair and festival that we are at. Because the sign is round would the cosmic ribbons work because if you ran the ribbons vertical or horizontal the edge ribbons would be very small and have to get progressively larger then back to smaller to create a circle. going square would not work in this instance. Or would it be better since its round to use the individual pixel bulbs? 

After that this is where i start to get confused on the channels and etc. Lets just say i use the pixel bulbs. They are sold in strings of 100 with a controller. and lets for conversation sake say that the sign would require 800 pixels to look right in our application to keep the pixels closer for a more smooth look. Do the controllers for each 100 link together? How many "channels" would that be? Is a controller for the 100 pixels 100 channels? I am clueless and was hoping someone could help me to understand how this works or point me in the right direction for learning how we can make this work. 

There is a company that is selling a sign for our specific application just like I have described but the cost is $23,000.00 This is alittle expensive and I think I can do this ALOT cheaper. Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you on this.

Wes