Light-O-Rama Forums

How to utilize LOR for a Ferris Wheel

Ramrug2014

Hello,

My name is Brian and I am a newbie of newbies. I have come to the conclusion that I want to jump into the exciting world of LOR this year for my 2014 Christmas season. I want to start out slow with a 16 channel system that I would like to utilize for a Ferris Wheel that I am currently constructing.

The FW is eight feet in diameter, will be made of metal and will not rotate.

Knowing nothing about LOR my main question is: Will 16 channels be enough for this project? and

How do I get started? I have not purchased anything yet so before I dive in I need some advise from

those who have been there.

Please help!

Your replies will be most useful!

Thank you.

Brian

Gee you sure dont want to know how deep the water is and just going to dive in.

Ok so how much have you given thought to this? The best way is to put the controller on one of the seats. You will then need to get power to the controller. Which means you have either buy or build some slip rings and keep them out of the weather. Also away from little fingers or critters. How you install the lights might limit how you can animate the lights.

I would think about using smart pixels and a pixel controller hooked up to a WiFi bridge for communication. Then a show computer that is connected into the same WiFi network. Now you can do a lot more things and with all of those difference colors I would put strips around the outside of the wheels and again along the spokes. And yes you will need to hide controller behind one of the passengers.

• Like 1

I would imagine you can do this easily. A simple quick thought would be 15 spokes/channels and 1 channel for the outside rim. In the sequencer, you could move the spokes as a group or run each spoke individually creating other effects rather than just rotation. Sort of depends on what effect(s) you wish to see. If you decrease the spoke count, then you have more channels or change colors.