Light-O-Rama Forums

Timings

Signpro

When you starting fresh with a new audio file and want to add SS effects to the beats in a song, is it easier to creating the timings in Sequence Editor and then import them in to SS, or create the timings in SS? I'm just not having good luck getting good timings in SS.

Personally I like the ss timings best. Almost always spot on for me. Se not so much. Remember, you can expand the audio tab in ss to see more detail. But none of that matters. Just nudge to get perfect placement of the effect if the timing is off. Besides, I don't know how you would import the se timing. I haven't imported anything into ss. I start the file, chose the audio file, create timings and away I go. Nudge is your friend. Nudge the placement, length, nudge one effect or all effects at once.

Once I started programming in ss I dread going to se just because of the pain of missing a beat by 1/8 second. Correction is a job of cut and paste. And if it is a spiral or something, it is even harder. Never in ss. Nudge it.

And lastly, you can do timings for separate sections of the song in ss and se. If your timings are so far off and you don't want to mess with nudging this could help. Especially in songs with many different timings. But personally it doesn't take me long to nudge. It took longer to write this I feel.

Good luck with ss. It was a learning curve for me but once I figured it out it seems way easier for 90% of my sequences. Rgb, ccr's, solid lights, signs...all easier. Ac,dc,lor, dmx...all quicker. Only my singing faces and motor controls are programmed in se now.

Sax