Light-O-Rama Forums

Firmware do I upgrade?

jlarson

Hello All,

I have been doing LOR for about 5 or 6 years now and during that time I have purchased a few controllers. My question is should I upgrade all 14 boxes to the latest firmware or leave them alone? A couple of them I still use to control different affects in my show but most of them just turn on and off my static portion of my display.

Thank You for your input.

When the fading twinkle/shimmer features were introduced it required you to upgrade the firmware to get those affects. This was at least 4 years ago, (probably longer.) 

If you don't plan to use those effects, or if everything is working in a satisfactory manner for you, then there isn't really a need to update your firmware. If you are going to do so, however, this is the time of year to do it. You'll have plenty of time to work on it, and won't be in a bind if something goes horribly wrong.

If you are having issue or want to add features Yes.  But if you are happy and not changing anything then    "If it's not broke don't fix it."

Personally I would do the firmware upgrade. Then if you happen to try to do one of the newer functions. It would do it. But if it will not do one of the newer functions cause you didn't do the past few firmware updates. Might leave you scratching your head wondering why it is not working. Really not hard to do. Just dont do it during a wind storm or thunder storm and all should be well.

I do update my LOR units during the month before installation - It takes just a few minutes, but makes sure the units are on the latest version of approved code.