Light-O-Rama Forums

packing up the lights?

adam_northdakota

newbie here and was just looking if anybody had any different ideas out there for putting your lights away so that they are easier to deal with the next year.  I've seen where people wrap the lights around cardboard and then put them in boxes but just wondering if anybody out there has some things they do that really help.  Thanks for the ideas and can't wait to do this whole thing again next year like everyone has said it is a blast and truly addicting.

As I take my lights down and wind them up I use Kitty Litter pales to store them in. They will hold up to 16 strings of 70 count c6s and lots of Spt1 wire. They are easy to carry and stack real nice in the attic.

I also use kitty litter pails of assorted sizes, as well as totes for the heavier, longer extension cords and assorted sized totes for other display items that'll fit in them.

I store all of my standard and custom length extension cords in milk crates.  Compact and they can stack high.

Found a lady on Craigslist that was selling them for a dollar a piece

i like to roll my lights like yarn starting with the female end. i find the pack nice in balls and don't get tangled.

This is what we do also.

i like to roll my lights like yarn starting with the female end. i find the pack nice in balls and don't get tangled.

+ 2

this works great

I store all of my standard and custom length extension cords in milk crates.  Compact and they can stack high.

Found a lady on Craigslist that was selling them for a dollar a piece