Light-O-Rama Forums

amperage questions

Guest guest

This has probably been talked about a hundred times over, but I am a newbie to this and am trying to plan for next year. My question is multi-part light-o-rama question. First off, I am semi sure of what the amperage ratings imply. for instance the LOR1602W can handle 30 amps total which means 15 amps per "side" of 8 channels each. That means that to have all the lights on at the same time (even for a "all fade" situation) I can only put around 5 strings of minis on each channel (.34 amps per string times 5 strings = 1.7 amps per channel times 8 channels = 13.6 amps). What I want to do is have the same "show" in three seperate areas of my yard. I have twelve bushes in these seperate areas of my yard and I want them to all do the same thing (they are far enough away from each other to not look bad, but close enough for a 12 gauge extension cord). The other option (the one I am not quite sure of) is buying an MCPD and four MC-TB04HF. Am I correct in saying that that would give me around 20 amps per two channels? That would allow me to put 29 strings of minis per channel. Could someone please help me understand this a little more. If I am correct, then I would be spending around $400 using the MC-TB04HF as opposed to using the LOR1602W and spending $900. Trust me, I have no problem buying whatever I need to do this, but we all know that if I can spend less then half, I can probably get twice as much and do even more with it.

Hi,

Your calculations are correct. The high power triac card would be helpfull in your case. The MCP is not currently in production and is slated for replacement later this year. You will have the same options as you described and it will give you more power per $ than other options.

Although most folks are concerned with the cost per channel there are times such as this were the cost per amp is more important.