Light-O-Rama Forums

Unit 2 not working. Help!

Klayfish

Expanded to two controllers this year.  Show went live tonight.  Half way through the first song, all the lights connected to Unit 2 stopped working.  When I open the box, there are no blinking LEDs inside.  I'm not very good with electrical things.  Can someone point me to things to look for??

First check to see if the GFI that is powering the controller is tripped.  If you have 120vac going to the controller, then check the fuses that are on either side of the PC board.  They are at the bottom right and left sides.  Do that with the power off.  You will need a way to test them.. If one of them are blown it is most likely the one on the right... and you need to find out why. 

If the GFI is tripped you need to find out why also.  Do that by unplugging all the lights.. Make sure you know where to plug them back in.  Run the controller with the HU so that everything is on full.  start plugging stuff back in one at a time until they either all work or you trip the GFI.  At that point you will have to find out what the cause is. 

Thanks.  Trying to figure it out now.  Don't think it's a GFI.  I have the controller plugged into 2 different circuits and both have other lights on them that are still working (I checked all my loads with a Kill O Watt when I set up), so that's not it.  Shouldn't there be some kind of flashing light inside the unit?  Controller 1 has a flashing green LED.  Controller 2 has nothing.  How do I test the fuse to see if it's blown?  I saw that it has two fuses.  Does one fuse control 1-8 and the other 9-16?

You are on the right track.. yes two fuses.. There should be a blinking light or if you have connected to the network I think it should be solid.