Light-O-Rama Forums

Network cabling

slipperyclam

Alright this is my first year doing this and let me say I did not budget my time very good but non the less I have my 6 sequences all my lights up and wires run but when I went to test things I the Hardware tester would not find any controllers. What I am wondering is I put up an Ethernet port on the outside of my house and ran a pigtail into the basement were my computer will be I used standard Ethernet ports and plugs and wired it to type A Ethernet wiring is this correct? or do I need to do something different?

Alright this is my first year doing this and let me say I did not budget my time very good but non the less I have my 6 sequences all my lights up and wires run but when I went to test things I the Hardware tester would not find any controllers. What I am wondering is I put up an Ethernet port on the outside of my house and ran a pigtail into the basement were my computer will be I used standard Ethernet ports and plugs and wired it to type A Ethernet wiring is this correct? or do I need to do something different?

This isn't TCP/IP. You need to use one of the USB adapters from Light-O-Rama.

Ok, so lets just verify that the following.

From the USB port you go to the adapter to the Cat 5 cable to this port that you have put outside. There is no network switch or hub in the line between the adapter and the controllers, right?
What is the little light on the controller board doing?

Max you are correct usb adaptor to cat 5 to port to patch cord to controller. Little Light is blinking green

I believe in order for it to work your port needs to be wired in this order 

White Orange
Orange

White Green

Blue
White Blue
Green
White Brown
Brown

If you have something crossed, or one of the wires not punched down good enough you will not be able to see the controller. Also check for cuts in the  line. 

You mention patch cord.....

in the networking world patch cord is much difference than a network cable.