Light-O-Rama Forums

Dealing with the media

pghquest

This is my first year putting up a LOR display, last year I used a generic bought unit..

I received an email from a local newspaper who's coming tomorrow to do an interview to spotlight my display.  Seems someone noticed me messing with the lights and called them.

While I'm flattered, I'm not exactly sure what I should say, and not say to them.

Would it be out of line to tell them to tell people to drop off old lights etc that they aren't using and I'll use them for my next display?  Lights are expensive, donated ones would be great rather than people throwing them in the trash..

I think if you stated in such a way that it sounds like you're "recycling" their old lights for a new purpose, you might be on to something.   I use a lot of old light strands for extra sockets, cut off the female and male/female passthrough ends and use them for ends on extension cords I make for my display.

So I don't thik that would be out of line as long as it was put tastefully.  Just my .02¢ worth.

Since I've not had the problem of dealing directly with the media on my display, I have on other issues, but on the display side, I'm just not sure what you should or should not say, others here that have, when they see your query, I'm sure can give you some great sage advice on how to handle the media.

Personally, I avoid the media at all costs. More attention to the display means more traffic, and more possible problems. Look up the stories of Carson Williams and Richard Holdman. Media attention isn't always a good thing.

*Disclaimer: Yes, I'd search out media for commercial projects.

I think if you stated in such a way that it sounds like you're "recycling" their old lights for a new purpose, you might be on to something.   I use a lot of old light strands for extra sockets, cut off the female and male/female passthrough ends and use them for ends on extension cords I make for my display.