Light-O-Rama Forums

Visualizer Out of Sync on New Computer

Push Eject

Hi guys,

Is there a way to offset or calibrate timing in the Visualizer? My sequences from years past play great on my show machine, but are about a 1/4 second off on my sequencing one.

Background: I've been running LOR since 2006 on two computers. One "show" computer in the garage and a sequencing computer in the house. Both running XP. Sadly the garage show computer croaked and was replaced with the sequencing one. It plays my sequences fine and in-sync.

At my desk I now use a 8 core mac pro running windows xp in parallels with all the ram and processors allocated to xp. When I sequence a song and get its sync dead nuts on, it plays back with the lights about 1/4s late in the garage, and vice versa.

Obviously the show computer is what matters, so how can I recalibrate my sequencing machine's visualizer to match?

I've tickled all the channel color button animations, etc to enhance the visualizer performance to no avail.

Thanks in advance,

Charlie

I don't know if this will help anyone else, but here is the audio and sequence I am using to test my sync between the two computers, the visualizer, and physical lights. It is 10 seconds long with a .2 second tone on every second mark.

Cheers,

Charlie

testsync.zip

I don't run parallels, but do run VM on my mac. I don't however run LOR on this Win7 VM, so can only speculate what might be going on. I do have one windows application I must run and have to be very careful about keeping the VM and Windows updates in sync or else that windows app does not work properly.

The sequencer is what sets the timing, it sends the commnds out the Visualizer on the port configured. It may be that on hte MAC/Parallels setup your XP partition has some delay that is not found in your windows/show computer. Not aware of any adjustments.

Thanks for the reply, htebault! It's appreciated. Bob or Mike? You out there...?