Light-O-Rama Forums

Jumping Arches questions/tips

cluebbe

Newbie here who is just getting into the Light o Rama fun.  I will be posting a series of threads to get members feedback on how they recommend easily going about putting up different components of their display.  My first topic is leaping/jumping arches.

I have watched and researched leaping/jumping arches for quite some time.  It seems as though there are many ways to go about it, but most videos share a few commonalities: using PVC pipe for the lights, using a potato peeler, drill or some other tool to rotate the pipe to more quickly string the lights.  My questions are:

1) What is the best sized PVC to use for an 8 channel arch with 100 lights per channel?  

2) What is the optimal length of PVC to use?  I was thinking of having a 12 foot arch with the bottom 6 inches of each to not have any lights so that I can keep them out of the grass and/or snow.  Unfortunately none of the local home improvement stores carry more than 10 ft sections.  Are there are any disadvantages to using two 6 foot sections and splicing it in the middle?

3) If using more than 1" diameter PVC how do you bend it without the use of a heat source?

4) What means to folks recommend to support the arch?  Sticking with the thought process of using 2-6' segments I was thinking I could use a piece of PVC down from the splice to support the middle and then a guide wire on each side.

5) What is the optimal length for each section/channel?  If I were to do a 12' arch with 6" left off each end that would give me 16.5" per section/channel?  Is that too big, too small or just right for 100 lights?

Any other tips and or suggestions that folks have to offer would be great.  I am looking for ways to optimize the initial build effort and also ease of set up for the following year.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by cluebbe