Light-O-Rama Forums

Configuring Multiple Networks

scottam67

This is my first year using multiple networks.  In addition to the Regular network, I'm planning on having Aux A and Aux B with 6 CCRs each and Aux C with 4 CCBs.  I have already purchased the necessary 500K USB485 adapters and plan to use a USB hub for all 4 networks. 

I presume that I will need to configure each controller with the USB485 that will be running it in a show.  Correct? 

Also, am I able to configure everthing on my laptop, and have it work OK on my show PC?

If I move the Regular Network adapter to the USB port, will the computer still recognize it and assign the proper comm port?

Part of my confusion is around how the PC/laptop assign comm ports to each of the USB485 adapters, and how that occurs from machine to machine, and using the USB port.

Any insight would be appreciated.

• Like 1

1 - Yes

2 - Yes, but only after you hook up all the Adapters and assign them on your SHOW machine in an identical fashion.  Network Configuration is tied to the machine, not a sequence.

3 - Our USB adapters have unique internal names, so  you can move them to any USB port on your computer and they will attach themselves to the correct LOR network.

FYI:  Be sure you have the ADVANCED S3 software.  Only Advanced can control lights on networks other than REG.

• Like 1

T

1 - Yes

2 - Yes, but only after you hook up all the Adapters and assign them on your SHOW machine in an identical fashion.  Network Configuration is tied to the machine, not a sequence.

3 - Our USB adapters have unique internal names, so  you can move them to any USB port on your computer and they will attach themselves to the correct LOR network.

FYI:  Be sure you have the ADVANCED S3 software.  Only Advanced can control lights on networks other than REG.

Thanks for your quick response!

• 2 months later...

I have searched through the forum but I am not having much luck. This is as close as I got...