Light-O-Rama Forums

Spray Park - DC controller

NoBadDays

Let me start by saying I am new to Light-O-Rama but I know it can solve this problem the question is how best to do it. I am creating a spray park in my neighborhood and need a good way to control the valves (24V DC) so that they appear random. I have two thoughts on how to do this but think there must be a better way. Here are the project requirements.

1. Park is only active between 8 am and 10 pm

2. Pushbutton activates park for ten minutes

3. The jets appear random

Plan 1.

My first thought was to use the DC-MP3 show time director with an external power supply. I would then connect this to a CMB-16D. The Director could be set with a 3 hour sequence then ran repeatedly between 8 am and 10 pm. The CMB would have its power controlled by an aux timing relay that was activated by the pushbutton and held power to it for 10 minutes. This way when the pushbutton was pressed the show would be at some random part and would only be active for ten minutes. I have not found this aux relay yet.

Plan 2.

Use just the CMB-16D and have the input on that be connected to the pushbutton. The CMB has 6 inputs if I could fine a way to sequence the wiring using latches so that it switched inputs I would have six programs that could run. I don't know if this is even possible.

Plan 3.

Any ideas?

Assuming that you have the programming under control, I would suggest a single animation (non-musical) sequence that can be downloaded into the DC controller and set to run whenever there is power supplied. You do not need an MP3 Director for this application. Just the CMB-16D.

For the day/time control, see here or here.

For the 10 minute runtime, see here or here or here.

To protect your equipment, I'd suggest a solid state DC relay that's triggered by your LOR DC controller.

You might want to put protection diodes across the outputs to minimize any inductive kickbacks.

12 volt power supply for the logic boards here.