Light-O-Rama Forums

Relays ??

yellowstang73

Hi, I'm new to LOR (just ordered my first 16 channel).
I have aprox. 2 1/2 acres of front yard and have been adding stuff every year to my christmas decorations. I have lots of plywood cutouts with flood lights lighting them.
My question is can I run my floodlights off a relay and fire the relay off one channel of the LOR? or possibly 2 relays and fire them with 2 channels on the LOR.
Was thinking of maybe 20amp relays. I have 2-50 amp and 1-30 amp circuits dedicated for christmas lights now, and will put the LOR on the 30-amp. keep the floodlights on one of the 50-amp sides and use relays to trigger them with the LOR.
Is any one else wired this way, or will it even work?

Yes you can do this with some caveates. Dont dim or shimmer or twinkle your relays.
dont gang returns in order to disable banks for relays (for use when you want the triacs to do what LOR designed them to do.

I have picutres and I can describe in more detail what to avoid if you like

Thanks for the quick reply. The deal is wife says we don't get rid of the christmas scenery that we already have. I agree with her on this as I have put a lot of labor and love into these cutouts. But the flood lights will detract from the effect I want to achieve with the LOR. I dug thru my old relays and found one that is rated 30 amps @ 110v ac it triggers with 12 dc. I dug around and found a 12v dc 1 amp power supply that works this relay fine. All I want to do with this is kill the floods at different times throughout the show. With this power supply only pulling 1 amp I should be able to run a couple of strings of lights with it, ie: when floods are off these mini lights will be on. I agree that it probably wouldn't be wise to fade, shimmer or flicker the relay and most times it will be steady off, with sometimes on.