Light-O-Rama Forums

A True Noobie Question.

Guest guest

First of all, I've been visiting this site for about 18 months and am blown away by the skills, grace, and helpfulness of it's members. What a FANTASTIC site and group of people! Anyway, after inadvertently having my outside display grow over the years from replacing security lights with red and green bulbs to now having neighbors stop and thank me during setup and tear-down, I'm finally getting serious next year. Including plans for more LOR than any reasonable person would/should attempt during their first year. ;)

So am I right that the max output per channel is 8 amps, with one plug for every 8 channels. Meaning that if I buy the LOR 1602W that I should ask my electrician to run 30 amp circuits for it and I'll have an AVERAGE of 3.75 amps available per channel?

Sorry if this is a dumb question or has been discussed before. Search didn't seem to help.

Also, just so I understand, I had two new 20 amp circuits run for this year. Each circuit has a box with two plug-ins, one above the other, each with a GFI breaker. Does that means each plug-in is 20 amps? Or would the whole thing be 20 amps, 10 amps for each plug-in? TIA.

If you have 20A to a single GFCI then the total output of the GFCI is 20A. Now that should be 10A and 5A as most GFCI outlets are only rated to 15A.

I plan to go with dedicated 20A GFCI breakers for my display next year. This year I ran on 4 regular 15A breakers.

Chris

Hi Dave,

You've already read my FAQ, I'm sure. However, your question wasn't covered there. So, let me help out here.

PLEASE NOTE: TO ALL - I AM NOT AN ELECTRICIAN. YOU SHOULD CONSULT WITH A LICENSED ELECTRICIAN IF YOU HAVE ANY DOUBTS.

There, now that's out of the way ...