Light-O-Rama Forums

Rainbow Flood Extreme

hazmat1104

I just purchased three rainbow flood extremes. Unfortunately the just flash randomly on their own even after several attempts of seting them up. I have spent time on the phone in an effort to trouble shoot to no avail. Are there any tips or tricks to get the DMX to work with LOR? You may have guessed this is my first attempt at DMX lighting.

I have all of the necessary equipment per Seasonal Lighting and is hook up correctly, but I believe I have a wrong setting with LOR. Thanks...

I have these as well. FIrst off, they are 5 channel devices. Channels 1-3 are for RGB, channels 4 and 5 are for different strobe effects. Be sure that you've not assigned sequences to activate channels 4 or 5 if you want to control RGB independently.

I'd 1st start debugging this by setting up only 1 extreme and seeing if you can get it to play nice, then adding the 2nd one.

I'm assuming you are familiar with setting the DMX address of each unit. The owners manual will tell you what DIP switches can be set to get different starting DMX addresses. Once you set the starting address, that channel will be red. The next 2 sequential channels will be blue, and green respectively. Channels 4 & 5 will follow blue and green. Make sure you are not sending any sequence values to those 2 channels.

This should work. I've built 6 now, and have not had any issue with the devices themselves, but it took a little while for me to understand DMX.