Light-O-Rama Forums

Looking to start but need some help

ksmith247

I have been looking at LOR for a couple years now and have finally decided to take the plunge, but i am not for sure what to buy first. Should i start with the package bundle that LOR sells with the controller and program. I am one that thinks if something is worth doing well, it can also be overdone even better. I love everyones displays and want to do that to my house.

My wife luckily understands my obsession for going overboard with everything, so LOR may be a great thing for me, plus i love how christmas lights make everyone feel better, even if for a short time. It was this or home automation, and this won.

Its a good time to start planning for next year. I'm a newbie as this is my first year out and my display is actually running so will no longer be a newbie at the end of this season. I suggest you start with a "Plan" of what you wish to light up, in parts, whole, props or whatever. Once you know what you are going to light up, then you can buy the controllers needed to accomplish it. With all the devices out there, CCR's, CCB's, CCP's, Controllers, DMX, Servodog, E1.31 and others...essentially its whatever you can dream, you can do. Once you know what you are planning, you can start with the sequencer and programming your display while you are waiting for the hardware to arrive. You do not have to have the hardware to start sequencing....hint, use the visualizer program inside of the software package. As for buying hardware, remember there are two sales during the year, spring and summer sales...that's a good time to save a little money on your hardware purchases that come from LOR. Understand that while sequencing your tunes, you'll probably think of other things that you can also light up... While doing all this, lets say you decided to do a megatree....you'll need all the lights, support poles or whatever your design will need, plus steel wire to hold it up, stakes and etc.. Controller