Light-O-Rama Forums

Help

Angela1978

This is my first year at LOR. My light show will run but will trip my gfi outlet. What could be causing this? I am using all led's. COuld it be the extention cords?

Edited by Angela1978

If you're using replacable LED bulbs, there is a chance moisture could seep into the socket and cause the GFCI to trip, another issue are the end female and female pass through connectors {the ones on the back of the male plug} could be getting moisture or water in them, they too wiil cause a GFCI to trip.

If replacable LED's, it would be a little difficult to do now, but dielectric grease {non conductive automotive grease} squeezed into the sockets would help prevent this.

On the female pass through and female ends, I use those plastic child proof outlet caps, they look like a plastic male plug and insert into the female receptacles, they are used to cover outlets in the house to keep small children from sticking their fingers or objects into the receptacles. I've been using these for over 3 years now and haven't had a GFCI trip since. I also use the non-conductive grease in all my replacable LED sockets, again, no trips in almost 3 years since I started this method.

I insert the grease just as soon as I buy a new strand of replacable LEDs. It takes a little time, but the money I save on the local retail LEDs has been well worth the little extra time I spent injecting the grease into their sockets.

If sealed strands, try the child proof outlet caps on the female pass through and female ends.

And one last thing, keep the female ends pointing down if at all possible, also keep the plug connections off the ground whenever possible. I actually use those small green light yard stake for keeping my connections off the ground.

Edited by Orville