Light-O-Rama Forums

Best way to record your display for YouTube

drums114

I want to record my display but I am worried that if I record the lights and then try and overlay the music on top later it wont be in sync. What is the best way? I also don't have a mic input in my camera - I wish it did :(.

I use Final Cut to sync it up and I do it by eye, but sound-for-picture is what I do for a living so my perspective on how "easy" it is may be way off.

Any picture editor like Final Cut or Premiere or Vegas, etc... should be able to line up sound and picture. Just nudge the audio back and forth until it looks in sync to you. Then export to YouTube's best settings - good info here: https://support.goog...&answer=1727361

If I can be of more direct assistance just PM me.

Charlie

Edited by Push Eject

MS Movie Maker might be so far below Charlie's strata that he doesn't even think of it or consider it as an option, but for a basic free editor, it does an okay job.

MS Movie Maker might be so far below Charlie's strata that he doesn't even think of it or consider it as an option, but for a basic free editor, it does an okay job.

No, no, absolutely! I know that I'm missing the forest for the trees. Just do what we used to do when syncing up old episodes of Matlock: "find a car door close and HANG ON!"

What that means is: sync up a big hit or stab and hope the rest lines up. Any editor that lets you move audio against picture will work. Trust your eyes. If it looks right, IT'S RIGHT.

I carry a small radio out with me so that the music is always in sync. Why would you waste time overlaying music when you can just record it with the show.

My patients wouldn't allow me to sync my music up. This is what I do...

Film at dawn or dusk

Park the ride behind where you are recording. Lucky we have a SUV and I pop the trunk and sit there

Get you one of those el-cheap-o tripods (because you will get tired)

Import it into YouTube and darken the background