Light-O-Rama Forums

Circuit Breaker Trips

griswald

I have two controllers in my show, each is on a separate circuit. I've been running my show for a week and the breaker on one of the circuits has tripped twice now (on separate days). The circuit is 20amp and the only other device on it is a very small refrigerator. When I reset, the show has run the remainder of the night without a hitch. I'm wondering if the controller and associated lights (12 strings of mini incans) is too much for the outlet at startup.

My question is: can I run the controller on two separate outlets (same circuit) with which one of the controller plugs will require an extension cord, without harming the controller? Sorry if this is a stupid question, but this is my first year using LOR and I don't want to ruin my controllers.

Thanks!

Ummm....

A compact fridge (like for a dorm room) will draw 2-3A, and a 'small' fridge could draw from 8-12 or more. Have you looked at the data plate on the fridge for the amp draw, then added up the draw of all your lights and EVERYTHING ELSE on that circuit?

The only thing on the circuit is the small fridge, which is, like you said, a dorm room fridge and the controller. Nothing else is on the circuit, so total amps is not an issue.

I think it might be the outlet, so I was wondering if its ok to run the controller on two different outlets via extension cords without harming it?

I think the only trick to using multiple outlets is as long as they are on the same phase of your houses power. How to check for that I do not know, Jeff Millard I believe is an electrician he would be the one to ask.

Mike makes a good point about the fridge. Motors have a tendency to draw a lot of amperage for a short time at startup. I wonder if the compressor is starting at a point in your sequence where you have a lot of the lights on, and it is just too much at once for the breaker? I would try moving the controller or the fridge to a different circuit...

Jerry