Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbies beware! Something to think about

scubado

This is my fourth year with animated lighting, third year year with LOR. I run my show on very limited funds and try to get the best bang for my buck. All of my stranded lights have been purchased at local big box stores. As I've been setting up my diplay this year, I've noticed that I'm not exactly happy with some my lights. My green g8 leds from Menards I think is my biggest disapointment. Segments burning 1/2 brite, non burned out, although I've had to replace a few at times. I've seen quite a bit of rusting on strands from Sam's Club on my older strands, about 3yrs old. This year, I've been leaning towards Shopko's Berry bulbs because they are sealed bulbs and like the bulb spacing too. But I've had to exchange three sets so far this year due to issues. I'm hoping the ones I have working will give better years of service. Incads fade and chip with age. This is my first year with RGB ribbon and already see issues with that as well. Buying cheap lights now, will get you up and running, but in a couple years you'll be having to replace your early cheap lights while also trying to expand your show.

I don't know what I'm going to do about next year. Currently planning to build a 300 gallon saltwater aquarium which will leave me no extra money to expand my show and maybe even downgrade it, Depends if I decide to keep the ball tree or not, which is currently not working due a inadequate power supply and delaying the start of my show. I no longer advocate using computer power supplies for DMX elements, they just don't maintain good enough power. The ball tree requires a lot of storage space and heat is an issue during the summer. I might repurpose the ribbon to other things I'd like to try. Another thing that's going to restrict my buying power is my health insurance is going up again thanks to our re-elected Liar in Chief.