Light-O-Rama Forums

speaker help?

symphony

This is my first time doing a show, and I'm pretty confused on what I need to get in specifications of outdoor speakers.

Would something like this do? http://www.amazon.co.uk/Yamaha-NSAW392-120w-Weather-Speakers/dp/B002WBWH9W/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1353625356&sr=8-8

We don't want to use FM Transmitters becase most of our visitors to see the displays will most likely be on foot - I live on a road, not in an estate, and we're surrounded by detached houses, so parking / traffic could become a huge issue if we were encouraging people to drive to the house and listen from their cars.

I'll attach a picture of our house so you can see the general size / scope. The lights display will be taking place around the five main windows, patio/deckng and front lawn.

http://i53.tinypic.com/67o787.jpg

I have no knowledge of speakers etc so all the letter-number talk confuses me. From my research, I think what we need is two outdoor speakers and then an indoor amp? I am also confused as to how we run the amp-speakers-computer-plug connections?

Apologies for my literal lack of know-how, any advice hugely apprecaited :)

I have a similar problem.

I do use an FM transmitter as I have parking on a side street across the road.

But I do need speakers outside on the sidewalk.

So I looked all over for some speakers that would work in conjunction with an FM transmitter or

a 3.5mm jack that I could run out to the front.

I had the hardest time because of the timer switching on automatically. I do not want to walk out

and switch on the speakers every night.

In the end, I got some wireless indoor speakers but work off a ON/OFF switch, which is important for

the timer to work.

Then I got some plastic supermarket bags and weatherproofed the speakers.

Works great now.

Good luck in solving your problem

Lou