Light-O-Rama Forums

Extension cords

docbass06

I'm reading through a lot of forum post and I notice people talking about making extension cords. Is this a cost saving measure or do people do it to get the extra length without paying for a commercial cord. The reason I ask is I'm not an electrician so i'm a little concerned about my skills.

Custom length. The main advantage. With SPT-1 or 2 and vampire plugs you can get custom length extension cords to where you don't have a whole lot extra laying under a bush. Very simple to use SPT 1 has a smooth side and a ribbed side. The ribbed side always goes to white or neutral smooth side is always the hot side. Just slide the SPT 1 or 2 wire into the socket bend it over slide the top on and now you have a custom length extension cord. No special electrition skills needed

Edited by Ron Boyd

I am new to this also and I have noticed that not only can you make the custom lengths for the cords but it is also cheaper. I bought 1000ft of SPT-2 wire with 50ea of male and female plugs for $180 through WLCventures.com. They are working for me ATM and I am by far no electrician.

we went through almost 2000 ft of spt 1 and 60 plugs each. We still have a couple heavy duties coming from stuff off the roof.. my husband LOVES the vampire plugs. He had never used them before. how long did it take to get it from WLC? I was concerned because I guess they only work like 2 days a week or something. I got mine at christmaslightshow.com good pricing and good service. Live person when you answer the phone.

another plus is once you get past 25 foot runs you will save money,it adds up fast when you use 2000 feet. plus a lot less bulk when you put your display away

• Like 1

another plus is once you get past 25 foot runs you will save money,it adds up fast when you use 2000 feet. plus a lot less bulk when you put your display away