Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie Getting Myself Confused - Clarification Needed Please

logandc99

I have been lighting up our property for last 8 years, static display only and want to get into the musical sequencing. Have been reading the forums, spec sheets on controllers, the auschristmas pdf on lighting and seem to be getting a bit confused. Our property is fenced so we have our gates open and people wander into the property to get in amongst the lights esp the kids so safety is very important. Excluding rope lights, most of my lights are led with transformers that seem to step down from 240v to 24v. I try to run everything with RCDs also.

I had been looking at getting the 16 channel Showtime PC starter package (starting slowly) but notice that they are AC power input and output running at 240 or 110V ( I would be using a 240V here). However, I read somewhere that lights with transformers are not ideal with this controller as the fading and twinkling etc from the LOR controller can damage the transformer (is that correct or is using transformers ok?). Therefore I would need to plug 240V lights into the controller but that didn't seem a good idea from a safety point of view as I don't really want people wandering amongst 240V lights (electrocuting people at your display just isn't a good look).

I would much prefer to use low voltage lights from the safety point of view so (and finally I get around to my main question.... sorry) do I have to purchase the AC powered residential Showtime PC controller to get the musical lights experience or can i just get the CMB-16D-QC, hook up a power supply like the ones Ray Wu sells, stick it in a enclosure, wire in my 24V LEDs, connect it to my PC via Cat5 cable and have my lights dancing to music via the LOR software?

If I am way off the mark here..... be gentle :-)