Light-O-Rama Forums

All lights go off for a 4-5 seconds

Guest guest

I'm a newbie here and this is the first forum to which I've ever posted. My question concerns a momentary dropout of all channels at what seems to be a random time during a song in the show. All 80 channels from 5 16D controllers just drop out for about 4-5 seconds and then come back as if nothing is wrong. It's never any longer than this. I've tried checking and replacing the data cables. The date cables are securely attached in the controller box so they don't move in the wind. The utility finds all 5 controllers every time and all of them test out okay. 3 of these boards are kit boards but they all went together without incident. It appears to act like the controllers all get a reset signal or something and then restart where the music is at. The music plays fine without the dropout. The show can run for 15 minutes or longer before anything might happen. Of course, it's always when others are watching. I'm using an AMD Athlon 2400 with as many processes shut down as I can and the Task Manager runs about 4-5% CPU load with no peaks registered during the dropout. The scheduler, show editor and sequence editor all seem to be working fine. I have updated all 5 16D controllers to the latest 4.01 firmware with appropriate files based on blue or green boards and am running 1.6.1 software. Any ideas out there would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise, everything has been great for the first year up and running. (What a blast! this has been. Whoopee!)

If you are using the USB485 adapter, I remember a few people posted the USB connector was loose where it plugs into the computer. If you are using the USB485 adapter check to be sure it is secure at the computer or possibly try another USB port for a tighter fit.

Future Information:
The USB485 (Virtual Com Port VCP) adapter supplied by Light-O-Rama has an updated driver on the FTDI Chip web site. You can find it HERE.