Light-O-Rama Forums

2 channels doing odd things

Ron Boyd

I have read a few posts for part of my problem, but I can't find the one I was reading, so I'm starting a new one. Sorry for the redundency.

First, on my #2 controller, channel 5 not working. The extension cord and prop have been checked and all is fine there. That's the first problem. Second problem I noticed this morning as I was leaving for work. Channel 3 is staying lit at about 50% (guesstimate), also, this same channel is staying lit when it's supposed to be off. I'm a newbie, so I'm confused. I reset the controller and PC and still had the same problem. I'm no electrician or electronics guru, but I have had a little experience in both areas, so I'm not a dummy with them either.

Any help would be appreciated from you experts. Thanks in advance and Merry Christmas to all.

What version of controller? PC series, or D/K (metal enclosure, 160X model) series?

Two different controllers with single channel issues, or one controller, two channels giving you issues?

Next step would be to confirm whether you verified both problems exist if you test the channels using the Hardware Utility..especially applies to your #2 controller. Want to eliminate sequence issues, channel config issues, anything software related.

Also want to confirm these were previously working channels...and they have just failed, as opposed to a used controller with issues, or one you built and and are seeing these issues.

A reset was a good first step to take; can never hurt. Just to confirm, you did an actual board reset, and then reset the unit ID, not just a power down and power back up?

What do you have connected to channel 3? LEDs, Incandescent, or..? That one is possibly a triac issues, but lets eliminate a few things first.