Light-O-Rama Forums

First LOR Show Is A Parade!

Guest guest

This is my first year to do a fully synchronized light show with LOR. My first real show and it was a float (actually a fully lighted & decorated pontoon boat) for a Christmas Parade in Shawnee, Oklahoma. Our local Parrothead club (Central Oklahoma Parrothead Association) entered the float and asked me if I would put together a light show.

The parade theme was "Christmas Around The World", so of course our theme for the float was "Christmas In The Caribbean. We spent 2 evenings decorating and setting up and testing lights & sound and tonight we unveiled our moving display. After some scary moments just prior to the parade start, we finally managed to get the lights working and everything went smoothly from there. The problem was a bad connection to the USB485 Adapter. The lights would barely flicker on until I moved the connection and then they would come on like they should. The problem was intermittent. I tried 2 different Cat 5 cables and had the same problem with both. I finally managed to get a solid connection and using electrical tape to get it to stay connected for the duration of the parade.

We used a Honda generator that is rated for over 40 amps which powered the lights and sound system. The laptop was set-up inside the truck with the LOR 1602WHS on the boat. We used all 16 channels and used the following 5 songs that I had sequenced.

Christmas In The Caribbean - Jimmy Buffett
Island Jingle Bells - Jimmy Buffett
Feliz Navidad - Jaci Velasquez
Having A Tropical Christmas - Jimmy Buffett
Mele Kalikimaka - Jimmy Buffett