Light-O-Rama Forums

Lamp Animation Test Jig

Guest guest

I'm new to the LOR line of products, and my wife and I are planning to step up our outdoor decorating efforts for the next holiday season. So I am planning on making a controller purchase after the first of the year.

After my purchase when I start to put together some programming, I was wondering what method folks use to test out their sequences. I've read that the programming software can play through or show a sequence on the screen. Is that good enough to see how the lights are actually going to behave?

I'm not sure how many controller channels I'm going to purchase yet, but was thinking of setting up some sort of test bay to connect one 120v lamp to each output of the controller for testing purchases. Has anyone built some sort of a test jig that has light bulbs that connect to each of the channel outputs on the controller? Or do you just use the PC to review your programming and then fine-tune your sequences when you actually get all the lights up?

Thanks and I look forward to learning more about the LOR products....

Randy

Welcome to the world of computer animation. I have seen people make a layout of their property on a piece of plywood, then put mini lights on it to help them see the effect on a small scale. I was new to it also this year, but I designed it as I built the display. I already have new ideas in my head for next years layout. But before you go too far with it, think about the cords. Do you want short runs or alot of long extension drops? This will help in planning what type of boards you need and how many. Example: If you make some mini trees (like 8 of them) I would get a 8 channel board for them and keep them in one area of the display...This gives you one power cord to the board and 8 short cords for channels. Extension cords is a huge factor in cost...