Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie here

Dulahey

(sorry for the longish post!)

Hey everybody,

I’ve always put up lights on my parent’s house. My mom is really into holiday decorating, especially Christmas. Well, I just got married this past August and my wife will be graduating college in May. Once this happens, we will be purchasing our first house. And like most of the others on here, Christmas lights are a big enough deal that I am already planning ahead. I expect for a couple of years I will simply be doing a static display, but I want to plan for animation in the future.

Anyway, I’ve pretty much decided that I’m going to make a purchase from CDI during the next sale. My question is though, what size to buy?

The amazing Chuck Downs, who lives just a few miles from me, uses only C6 LED lights. And I think I like this idea. But I want to hear from others.

I know it’s hard to plan ahead not even knowing what the heck my house will look like, but most things are pretty much the same.

It seems most people use icicle lights along the edge of the roof. Is a string of C6 lights, paired with C6 icicle lights good start? Or should icicles be mini lights? I LOVE the bounce effect. Not sure if this works with LED's as good though.

I grew up with C9 lights around the edge, but I don’t like C9 LED lights. The good ones are absurdly expensive.

I also always used clips for C9 lights to make them perfectly uniform. Would it be crazy to do this with C6’s? Especially in the future if I wanted to run a string of Blue, Red, and Green? I’d have to have a clip every inch lol! (Or I could build something like THIS.)

Basically, what applications is it NOT a good idea to use C6 lights?

And as for color, I’d love to have Blue, Green, Red and White all over one day. But for starting out as a static display what do you think would be best? I’d probably only get icicle lights in white, so maybe Red to go with them? Or just do all white?