Light-O-Rama Forums

LOOKING TO GET STARTED

shanroc13

Hi all i would say i am very new to this hobby and looking to get started my question is what is the best way to get up and going or what do i need. ie the best softwear,hardwear and programs do i start small and grow the show or do i just go big to start thank you for your time

JBullard wrote:

Hardware: LOR
Software: LOR

Go BIG!

What he said!!

I have used hardware and software from different companies. You are at the right place.:cool:

shanroc13, Do you have any lights up yet

Time is going to be your enemy!:shock:

Order you LOR gear, put up lights. Plan on a static display until after Christmas.:P

As many will say, Welcome to the Madness!

If you are shooting to have a show this year, its probably going to be next to impossible to get anything going.

Controllers are shipping slowly unless you want to pay an arm and leg for one on Ebay.

Then you have to have the lights up.

Lastly you need sequences, you could buy some pre-made sequences this year or try and download some from various sites.

The biggest problem is going to be the controller though.

This is not just christmast lights, its a hobby for most of us that takes all year to put together. It takes devotion, time and money.

So when people say GO BIG!, you need to commit to it.
Because once you get started, its like a virus, It will consume you and most of your free time. Bye the way, all you will care about in the middle of July is finding sales on extension cords...

no lights up yet looking to do first show in 2012 dont want to rush but need to start buying the the things i need i have started to buy some lights and props is there any way some one can be a little more detailed about what i will need out side of the lights and props or know where i can find it in the fourms thanks for all the help so far

shanroc13 wrote: