Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR Controllers

Guest guest

Hey all,

I'm new to all of these computer controller lighting displays, but would like to get something up and running by Christmas 2006. I've been researching the LOR software and had some questions (probably pretty low level, but I'm going to ask anyways).

Can the LOR software control any other PC I/O boards other than their own?? I would like to build most of the hardware myself, whether that includes a LOR hobbyist boards or not. I would like to steer clear of the "Showtime" products.

Also, do the LOR hobbyist boards have options like dimming and creating running lights....etc.

Any info would really help and be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Phil

Hello Phil and welcome to PLANETCHRISTMAS!!!! We are very happy to have you here.

To answer your question, yes.... LOR can control other hardware. LOR is capable of communicating with Dasher, X10 and Digital I/O cards.

Now the sticky part... when LOR is controlling LOR hardware, it will perform effects like shimmer, twinkle, dimming, ramped fades ... etc ... If you havn't done so, you can download a demo of LOR from the LOR website and play with the software, create sequences to get a feel for what it will do.

If your running X10 and DIO, these nifty features are gone. Basically you get on/off.

Hope this helps..

-- Bob

If this post is late, I got sidetracked and didnt finish right away ...

Thanks for the info Bob. Much appreciated.

I do have 1 more stupid question. I assume more than one digital I/O board and/or LOR hobyist controller can be controlled at a time?? Otherwise the I/O count you can have would be very limited. How do you do this??

Thanks again, Phil

psawatsky wrote:

Thanks for the info Bob. Much appreciated.

I do have 1 more stupid question. I assume more than one digital I/O board and/or LOR hobbyist controller can be controlled at a time?? Otherwise the I/O count you can have would be very limited. How do you do this??