Light-O-Rama Forums

Putting Controllers in Yard

pstigerfan

I've been busy working on my display for this year, and even though this is my first year working with LOR, I have some big ambitions- want to do a total of 15 songs and a bunch of other stuff.

Anyway, where I live, we are currently an "undeveloped/developed subdivision". Pretty much what that means is that the area is currently an active development with a bunch of open land plots where houses will go eventually. We usually do not get police drive-bys or anything like that, since we are also the "dead-end" of the street.

What I am worried about is the neighborhood kids, mostly teenagers, who have nothing to do during the Christmas season. Last year, when we had a static display, I woke up one morning to find the yard vandalized. I did file a police report and also had video of them doing the damage. What I am afraid of is that I will put my controllers out in the yard and find them vandalized and somehow broken.

So, does anyone have any plans or ideas? I was thinking about just doing a locking box with a lid and put the controllers in those. Probably paint them a color to blend in with their surroundings. I've pumped almost $1,000 into this year's display, and that includes the controllers, lights (purchased around 10,000 new lights last year) and a bunch of other stuff. The last thing I want is vandals from the local neighbor children.

Any help would be appreciated.

Paul

Is there no chance of putting the controllers inside the garage (locking the door) and running the cables out to the elements (mini/mega trees, arches, etc)? How about inside a front room, running the cables out a window, securing it from opening? Maybe controllers on the roof? Chain them to a tree? Drive a long fence post into the ground, bolting the controllers to it?