Light-O-Rama Forums

How many songs for a show

TODD HILL

Just wondering how many songs people use in a show? also do you run a continuos loop of the songs or just have 3 or 4 songs and then have a time of lights all on? This is my first year and was wondering which way is best.

Guest Don Gillespie

TODD HILL wrote:

Just wondering how many songs people use in a show? also do you run a continuos loop of the songs or just have 3 or 4 songs and then have a time of lights all on? This is my first year and was wondering which way is best.

Todd there is no limiot on songs, I run around 40 sequences each year, after about three sequences I turn on all my lights for people to take photos and look at everything, I leave them on for about 20 to 30 seconds, then a new batch of sequences start, i start my shows at 5 and run till 10 or when ever the traffic has slowed to nothing. there is no best way or bad way, as you start you will make changes as to what will work for you, good luck and most importantly have fun.

Rather than focus on the number of songs, focus on the number of songs that you think are really done well.

However ... few people stay to watch more than three songs at my display, and I intentionally schedule a "repeat" song every 3 or 4 to encourage people to move along so there are no traffic issues.

But ... I strive for about 15 songs all together because I will truly go berserk if there are only three and I hear them continuously for five weeks.

In other words ... do what works best for you :-)

This year since I am changing everything I will probably start with 5 songs and add a few more throughout the season. Most cars that come by get tired of watching after that many songs anyway. (I know, you didnt know cars could see, haha)

Every ones setup is going to be different.