Light-O-Rama Forums

Ted W

Newbie with less than 3 months to go and stuck. I got $500 in Christmas lights from last years after Christmas sale, I bought 5 You build controllers, 3 are working, 2 need to be sent back to LOR, and the software. I have the controllers running the light sets, I can "tap" the rhythym, but what a hassle. Where do I go next, what "Manual" / Guide makes all this easier?

Need help please:shock:

Welcome to the insanity Ted!
try using the beat wizard to create custom timing grids. you can have multiple grids and switch in and out of them at any time.
Also, have you downloaded any other people's sequences? A great way to start is to copy from others until you get the hang of it.

This is my first year as well. My advice would be to simply keep playing with the sequencing software until it become second nature. As for timing out the beats, I usually will use the tapper at 1/2 speed and tap out any beats I want to sequence. I usually have a couple of "blank" channels that I use for the different beats in the song.

Although some people tap out the entire beat for a song before sequencing, I'm much too impatient for that and usually sequence a song in sections starting from the beginning to end.

Other pieces of advice I've learned on here:
1: make sure, if using an mp3, the bit rate is constant
2: Use copy and paste whenever you can. This is probably the single most important thing.
3: When sequencing, I almost always have the playback option set at "visible screen" Doing this helps you listen to the same small piece of music multiple times so you can make adjustments. (Another VERY important tip)

Other than than, just play around. You'll get the hang of it and will be surprised how quickly you'll end up being able to sequence songs.