Light-O-Rama Forums

Lighting control

Wayne K

What is everyone using to control there extra lighting. I use lor for all of my outside lighting at Christmas time. But inside the house I have been using the X10 stuff from smart home to control my X-mas tree and all of the extra lighting around the house. But since doing a win 7 upgrade there is no software update for my x-10 controller and it will not work with win 7. So I guess it is time to upgrade to something else for control. So as I said above what is everyone using to control there extra lighting needs? I want it to be stand alone and not part of lor as I turn a couple of different lights on every night.

Thanks

Wayne

I use the program called Cmax which comes with the Ocelot which sends out the X10 commands all over my house

Easy to program using ladder logic style commands

I have been using X-10 for many years to control lighting all over my home. The problem with X-10 is that the more switches/devices you add, the more problems you may have. The signal goes through the electrical wiring of the house. If all the devices are not on the same "leg" or "phase", you usually have to add a crossover to make it work dependably. I have two crossovers and repeater switches and still have difficulties.

I have slowly been migrating to Insteon from SmartHome. It's a much more stable technology---it uses both radio signals and electrical line signals to communicate. And, unlike X-10, the more Insteon devices you have, the better they communicate. They are a bit pricey; however, another advantage is that Insteon devices also support X-10 technology. So you can add one to your X-10 network and gradually move to Insteon. If I have a problem with an X-10 device, I replace it with an Insteon. I love the technology.

PM me if you need more information.

CKSedg wrote:

I have slowly been migrating to Insteon from SmartHome.