Light-O-Rama Forums

how do you

Guest guest

I was wondering how everyone that has videos of their display outside gets the sound into the video. Are you using a fm receiver outside, such as a walkman, and plugging the headphone out into the camera as you record or how exactly do you all do it. I'm wondering since this is my first year with LOR and I want to video it with the sound so I can show friends who can't be around the area of the display and perhaps even post it on an internet site so anyone on here that wants to see it can watch.

Thanks

I haven't done it yet because this is my first year also but I plan on using a fm walkman like you said. I would do a test run first to make sure you have the volume on the walkman set properly so that you do not have distortion from having the volume to high or not being able to hear it because you have it set too low.

I was planning on doing a little post-production editing...dump the video to my computer and then dub the MP3/WAV on top.

I use Pinnacle Systems Studio for editing video, but Windows Movie Maker (which comes free with most versions of Windows XP) has basic capabilities.

This way you can also add a title, credits, etc.

It's a bit time consuming, but not overly so. Plus it adds a touch of professionalism.

The Sony camcorder I used had no line input for a radio, so I "taped" a set of headphones around the camcorder so the two earpads were covering the microphone holes in the front. It masked most of the outside noise except for extremely loud ones and the quality was not all that bad.

Mike

I have a speaker outside that allows me to hear a little bit of the audio when I am filming. It will never sound that great on the tape, but it is enough for me to overlay the real MP3 when I am editing the video. You can do the same with a portable radio next to your camcorder (assuming your are broadcasting your audio).