Light-O-Rama Forums

Thoughts on Rainbow Wall Runner

ogamoga

I think it would look great. I am doing a bit of research on similar products for a wash effect as well. Your garage doors will look good for sure. Phillips Color Kenetics is another version of this type of lighting, but I believe is going to be more expensive to incorperate.

I was looking at the rainbow wall runners also and purchasing the rainbow brain assembly that Lights On Manor sells. The price isn't too terribly expensive, but there are some questions regarding this product that someone can answer.

I know the product is a DMX product, so an addaptor will have to be added into my LOR network, right?

The "brain says that it has 5 ports and that each port will support 5 RWR's, so that's 25 total per board. But does that allow me to do chase sequences through the ports (all lights on port 1 do the same effect always) or can the DMX signal control all 25 lights individually? I am very new to the DMX concept.

I believe that you can also use the LOR DC board (CMB16D) to operate the Rainbow Wall Runner - they need three 12v DC channels, one for each colour of LEDs. The CMB16D is a 16 channel device, and can therefore operate five RGB type devices, leaving one spare channel.

Regards,

Alan.

Edit: I believe if you use the Rainbow Brain, all devices connected to the first channel (for example) will operate at the same time - the reason five units per channel is specified, is the maximum loading of the channels.

I'll jump in here...

The Rainbow Brain understands DMX and only DMX. That means you will need some sort of device to speak DMX to it. If you are using LOR's equipment, you currently need the iDMX. However, Dan has said that a new cheaper DMX adapter is on the way. With the iDMX, you will need a XLR-Cat-5 adapter. (Available in the Accessories section of the store.) From there you just use cat-5 cabling to connect your DMX devices.