Light-O-Rama Forums

Audio and Video Sync Problems

bob_moody

I have been working on capturing video of our display this year (1st year video, 1st year editing ... TOTAL NOOB...)

I have captured 3 or 4 songs already and had no problem getting them to sync up. I took a portable radio with me on the tripod and turned it up so the camera would capture the audio and give me a point of reference when overlaying the actual music.

Now I have been working on two songs. What I do when editing is put on a pair of headphones and put the audio from the camera in one ear and the music to sync with in the other ear. I can get them right on the money.

The issue is that while it starts out perfect it seems to drift as time moves on. By the end of the song I am no where even close. The lights are in sync with the camera audio. I dont know/understand what is happening.

Is it my playback computer?

Is it the camera (JVC Everio GZ-MS110)

Editing software (Vegas Video HD 10)

Is it LOR or the audio clips I'm sync'ing these songs with.

I have done songs with MP3 and WAV files and until now they are perfect. Both of these are MP3's are the same file that I'm using for playback.

The ONLY thing that I can think of between these 2 songs that wont stay in sync and the others are they were BOTH edited in Audacity. But then again, its the same file that is being played back in LOR.

I'm looking for help. I really want to get the display filmed before its time to teardown .

Thank you ... Long post .. I know..

PS. Videos I have been working on VIMEO. You can get there from our website:
http://moodychristmas.weebly.com/

Bob

I'm not sure I understand what you're doing, but: Are the MP3s variable bit rate?

If they are, I suggest converting them to constant bit rate, or to WAV files.

Bob,