Light-O-Rama Forums

Where to put the controller?

David Rise

As a newbie I am making my plan for next christmas. I think that I have a few spots picked out for some dedicated lines.

Probably a dumb newbie question for you seasoned folks....

But I am curious where you folks put your controller(s)? In my mind I keep thinking that I need to put it somewhere out of sight (secure) so someone won't walk off with it in the middle of the night.

David Rise wrote:

As a newbie I am making my plan for next christmas. I think that I have a few spots picked out for some dedicated lines.

But I am curious where you folks put your controller(s)? In my mind I keep thinking that I need to put it somewhere out of sight (secure) so someone won't walk off with it in the middle of the night.

Mine are mounted to wooden boards attached to galvanized pipe that slides into sleeves in the ground. When done setting up, I cover with a black plastic garbage bag. Pretty invisible.

David Rise wrote:

Some of mine are screwed to the sides of my house, some are on the roof, some attached to the chimney, and some are on stakes out in the yard. I try to keep them close to the lights to minimize the length of power cords needed, while at the same time, keeping them in low visibility areas. Of course, since I use over a mile of cords, I guess you could say I'm a failure...

D.T.

I locate mine in places where it minimizes extension cord use and maximizes connectivity for display items. They means some on the roof, some on the side of the house, some in the yard, some on the fence, etc. Since I'm controlling two large homes and a big yard ... there is no way I'd want to put stuff in the garage and run 100+' cords to everything. Most of the controllers are mounted on stakes I put into the yard and are hidden behind display items when possible. I film everything with a couple cameras and have other security measures in place.