Light-O-Rama Forums

Need help with wireless configuration

Guest guest

Hi, newbie here. This is our very first year trying to automate our Christmas lights. I have a LOR1602W controller, with a USB485B converter and 2 Easy Light Linkers.

When I connect the controller directly to my laptop, I am able to locate the correct comm channel, id the controller, and test without any problems. When I try to connect using the wireless, the controller cannot be found.

I have downloaded and installed the latest hardware utility, and have tried every port configuration I can think of. I am sure that I am missing some simple step, and I would really appreciate any help figuring out what that step is.

ColevilleBob wrote:

When I connect the controller directly to my laptop, I am able to locate the correct comm channel, id the controller, and test without any problems. When I try to connect using the wireless, the controller cannot be found.

I have downloaded and installed the latest hardware utility, and have tried every port configuration I can think of. I am sure that I am missing some simple step, and I would really appreciate any help figuring out what that step is.

It really should be as simple as replacing the wired link with two ELLs. Check LED1 on both ELLs, it should be flashing at about once per second. Do this while they are plugged into the USB485 & 1602 controller respectively to make sure both ELLs are powered and booted.

Plug one ELL at a time into the USB485B and click the "LOR RF" tab. They both should fill in the "Current Device Parameters" window and populate the radio buttons. Make sure both are on the same Frequency and set to the same Speed.

While the Hardware Utility is running, LED2 on both ELLs should flash (pretty dim). This is the heartbeat being transmitted/received. LED3 should not be on or flash as it indicates an error.

Let me know what you see when you do these tests.