Light-O-Rama Forums

Networking questions

jaymez35

Newbie here for Christmas 2011

I am deciding if I should go residential or commercial for my home. I have spare slots on my electrical panel so I can wire that up without an issue. My questions concern the networking side of it. The house has been re-wired on Cat 6 for data.

Questions

1. Are the controllers obtain an IP address or can I assign a static IP address?

2. If I can assign static IP addresses does each unit have to programmed separately or can I daisy chain them and set the IP address remotely? Thinking about getting two units.

3. Will the controllers work on a gigabit network?

4. Will a PoE switch cause any problems?

5. Will my domain controller cause any issues?

6. Which OS should I use to run the program? I am running Win7 ultimate (64and 32 bit) and professional (32 bit). I am also running server 2008 and 2003 and a couple of VM’s of XP.

7. Will a separate VM of XP on a Win7 (64 bit) ultimate work?

8. Would a separate VLAN be better for the units?

9. If the units will work on a LAN do I need the extra USB , Serial controllers?

10. Non networking issue. Since the house is wired on 20 amp breakers do I need the double pole breakers or will single 20’s work?

Thanks in advance

you cannot use your home network with lor, lor uses a completely different language.

lor boards use rs485 serial protocal, meaning you cannot connect a ethernet cord directly to you network jack on your computer. you have to use a usb converter to connect your boards to your computer. you daisy chain each board together using ethernet cables, if you purchase the commercial boards, then on each board there are two dials that you set a unit number that will then be used to identify your boards in the software. if you purchase the residential controllers you have to connect each board 1 by 1 to your computer to set a unit id, then you can daisy chain them.