Light-O-Rama Forums

Video Security System - CCTV

CLD Kevin

I’ve been doing some research for video security systems. I'm planning on getting one here soon for both my display and the security of my home. I’m no expert and just sharing what I’ve learned. Again, all info is from what I gathered from the net. If I provide bad info, please someone correct me.

IMO, the point of having a video security system is to identify the person or persons via video that caused the incident. If your video is unable to identify the person due to bad quality, then the video security system defeats the purpose and is basically useless. It doesn’t have to be HD quality (would be nice), but at least VCR quality. There are 2 things to consider then choosing a system….how good quality you want the video and how much are you willing to spend. Again, this info is what I gathered from reading online. I don’t have first hand knowledge.

DVR:

You want to be able to record 30fps per camera. This gives you “real time” motion recording. Most reasonable priced DVR will record at CIF (352x240 resolution) at 30fps , but make sure the total fps equals 30. I’ve seen many DVR at 15fps or 7.5fps. Your recording will be choppy. So anything less than 30fsp@ CIF avoid. Just be aware the CIF resolution is small. It will probably be okay with a “good” quality system. D1 recording would be ideal and for a “best” quality system. The resolution is 704x480. Much bigger picture, better resolution. Most all DVR also offer the option to record in CIF & D1, but the D1 fps are lacking (7.5fps) and way to choppy unless it states “Full D1 @ 30fps”. And if it could record at “real time” in D1, you would know it…those are high end models and cost a lot more.