Light-O-Rama Forums

Purchase LED's

Chick Kazienko

I am planning my first show next year going LED and I completely understand that there are differnt quality of lights but it is hard to pass up $5 - $7 a box on sale. Looking for some feedback. Is there some location i can get away with using the cheaper lights and get the CDI lights in Feb. I plan on Minis, arches, roof peaks, bushes, windows and wreaths.

Thanks

Chick Kazienko wrote:

I am planning my first show next year going LED and I completely understand that there are differnt quality of lights but it is hard to pass up $5 - $7 a box on sale. Looking for some feedback. Is there some location i can get away with using the cheaper lights and get the CDI lights in Feb. I plan on Minis, arches, roof peaks, bushes, windows and wreaths.

Thanks

Hi Chick -

I have been using LOR since 2006, and I (along with the rest of the NJ LOR mafia (and you know who you are, Jeff)) have been dead set against LEDs. Up until last night, that is. I visited Longwood Gardens last night and saw their 500,000 light (LED) display. The whites are great... I was impressed.

The reasons I've not liked LEDs were that if they were half wave, there "flickered", especially when viewed while moving... most annoying. Also, the color of the "white" lights was always too bluish for me. FInally, I worry about the durability of the LEDs. I would much rather throw away a set of $1 incandescents than an $8 set of LEDs when they go bad. How often they go bad is the big question.