Hardware Program, CFCI's and Trouble SHooting.

colonel

I'm in my 3rd year and still confused. Preview party was heavy rain, opening night was a snow storm. As expected I had several CFCI, pop. We trouble shoot by unplugging half of the line feed or for single feed boxes, half (8) the lights. I was wonderful with this but now I am seeing Hardware (latest) telling me box 4 is out but I am enjoying the lights as I write? My electrician is also telling me that if the 1-8 channel cfci is popped that it takes the whole box and network down. I guess what I am asking for is a good trouble shooting guide. I am an old pilot who hit his head too many times on the canopy and have employees who have trouble understanding the system. Does anyone have a checklist for this?

1. Maintain Aircraft Control

2. If Fire Confirmed

3. Eject!

-klb- wrote:

It is the power inlet for 9-16 that powers the card. And having one card down does not impact the communication to the rest of the controllers.

OK, that helps. On my 1602, the hardware utility does not "see" that controller yet 9-16 are lit. That might be a bug or is that tied to 1-8? 1-8 trips it's gfci. I have a pc16 at the head (linker) of a cat5 daisy chain and when one side of it goes out it takes that network segment out. So that would be the 1-8 side that is tripping?

There have been some users reporting that hardware utility does not always find their controllers. I would say that it is usually a matter of less than perfect cabling between controllers, except that one of the users who I have heard it from is not the sort to take the cabling lightly, and that the lights still work correctly....

Power to channels 1-8 only impact the ability to put power out channels 1-8.