Light-O-Rama Forums

Mega Tree

saynomoore

I was putting up my mega tree today.(Second year with LOR, first year mega tree.) It is 20ft tall 10ft diameter at bottom. Every thing went great until I went to put the lights on, Iam putting 96 total strings 48 blue, 48 red, right now I have a tangled mess, will start over again tomorrow, ran out of daylight......oh what fun we have in November, ......:D

I don't know if you'll have time this year, but this is how I got rid of the tangled mess. This is my first year with a mega tree as well. I put it up in July to practice, and a good thing I did. It took me HOURS to untangle all the strings. I did what I'll describe below and my tree went up this weekend with no problem.

I am using 100ct. lights so each string goes up and down. 3 colors (RGB), 2 strings of each color per segment. 12 segments. That means each segment has 12 strings coming from the top and the tree has 144 strings. What a tangled mess.

For each segmentI attached the lights to a hook in the basement at the spot it would hook to the tree. Separated out the 12 strands (RGB, RGB, etc) Took each set of 3 strings (RGB) and loosely zip tie in the middle and at the bottom. I now had combined strands. Zip those together at the bottom. When you put thel ights up you have 12 bundles hanging. Easy to grab one. Undo zip tie, now have 4 bundles of 3. Grab one of the, cut the zips, a few seconds to untangle the 3 strings, secure to base, move on. What took HOURS in July took no time at all this Sunday.

The lesson I learned, a little prep time before saves a literal pain in the neck later!