Light-O-Rama Forums

need a good fm transmitter

vpfs

• 2 weeks later...

ok so this is my first year doing an animated show and i have been wondering how to get the music to the viewers of the show. i need to do both speakers and a transmitter. now how would i do both out of my computer? is it possible? i have a cble that is 1/8 jack to rca to run between my computer and a audio receiver then run the speakers out of there but how would i run a transmitter? use a splitter? and my final question is what is a good transmitter to get. i really need it to be fairly inexpensive as i am on a budget and still need to buy the extension cords. i only need to broadcast say 200' and should i go with fm or am. any help would be greatly appreciated cause we are a little more than a month away from the opening night.

There are lots of transmitters, including Ramsey, and EDM that are good. I too was looking to replace my Whole house Gold that I used last year. (too restrictive on frequencies and short range) I chose a Chinese unit from eBay like this.

http://cgi.ebay.com/100mW-500mW-Power-adj-88-108Mhz-Home-FM-TRANSMITTER-/300437063541?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item45f371c775

It arrived in two weeks, is low noise and has adjustable output. I found the low power (100 mW) setting with the included antenna sitting in a window gets me ~400 feet radius of clear sound. No RDS, but pretty cheap.

YMMV, not responsible for regulatory responses, etc.

Mike

kissfan4 wrote: