Light-O-Rama Forums

When to start putting up lights

Plumber Plays with Lights

This is my first year. I was wondering when do the seasoned guys start hanging lights. I say in mid Oct. My wife says after the first of Nov. I want start early and enjoy my show. My wife and I are programing together and have about 10 songs. How long is to long for a show.

I'm going to start on my Halloween lights the first week of October, Ill start with the Christmas lights on November 1st

• Like 1

Depends on how many lights and how much area you are doing.  I will be starting in two to three weeks, depending on the temperature.

Halloween 1st week October, tear them down 1st week November then start on Christmas during 1st week of November to have them ready to light by the 1st week of December. Not as young as I used to be so it takes longer. 

• Like 1

I will do some prep work in October, and plan on the first lights up last weekend of October or November 1st.

Granted, a lot of my lighting is used year round for landscaping. I only have a pixel tree, 6 arches, and some GE CE bulbs to put up.

I always start the day after Halloween. The main thing is, except for testing, the show & the lights must stay dark until Thanksgiving.

• Like 1

As others mentioned....

Halloween comes first. Not as big a display but still have to wait to put up Christmas.

Halloween - Set-up day before halloween, tear down day after.

Christmas - Start setting up November 1st and just about every day up thru Thanksgiving eve.

Light em up Thanksgiving night. B)

If your doing a Halloween display, most of the time that is a factor as to when Christmas set-up gets started.

If I didn't have a Halloween display, I would probably start mid October.

Sometimes, the weather can mess plans up and delay things so more time is always better if you can get it.