Light-O-Rama Forums

High Failure rate of LED's (what do you think)

Ralph A

I have been running LED's since 2010.  I understand that this is still a young technology.  However, I wanted to ask those of you that have a greater understanding than I  a question.

I have  a lawn string grid that has 24 lights of each color.  All the strings come from the same vendor.  My show has been running since December 4th, and runs about 22 minuets. These strings operate about a total of 3 to 4 minuets per show.  There not on long. Since that time I have had 5 strings fail. The are C-6 Green LED's.  There are all brand new. None of the other colors have failed but one.    I sent and request to the vendor (will not name them for now) and they stated that the Green LED's are more sensitive and I'm straining the lights by operating them at 100% and to back off to 80% and they will last longer.  What?  I believe these were designed to operate at 110vdc.  They should last much, much longer than this!!  I believe that it can be true that when you turn on the current it may have a little spike at first and then even out.  However this should be taken into  consideration when they are being designed to operate at 110vdc.

What do you think about this and what have the rest of you experienced with your LED's?

Thanks, and Merry Christmas!!

I think it sounds pretty crappy.  I agree with you - the lights are being sold to operate on 120v and they should.  Period.

Is it the voltage though?  Or is it related to the paces we put them through?  Although no vendor has ever said this before, and I'm 99.6% certain I'd have heard of it.

Sounds to me like the vendor (or maybe more properly- the mfgr.) is trying to pile BS on top of garbage and hope that the second layer masks the stink of the first. 

Please keep us posted, especially as to how the vendor handles things.  Our warranty is through them.