Light-O-Rama Forums

Solder iron question

RoboticBrad

Newbie here looking to go big this coming Christmas and want to start planning now... I'm trying to keep the cost down as much as possible so I figure I have time to solder my controller boards (even though I've never soldered in my life). My question is about the soldering iron, does it need to be a certain watt or type? I see my local Fry's electronic store has a 60 watt iron on sale this week and I thought about picking it up. I don't want to waste the money if it's the wrong kind, or if there's something better for not much more. Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated. Can't wait to get started! Thanks

Well you get what you pay for is a term that can have some influence on things.

But you can get away with a fairly cheap 40 watt soldering iron for doing boards but you will need some higher wattage to do the terminal lugs as they do take more heat to solder.

Personally I would say a fairly good adjustable soldering station would be a good investment if you plan to do more than just boards as then you would have something that can crank up the heat for wires and lugs as well as be turned down for soldering the little parts on boards.

Otherwise get your 60 watt iron and make sure that you can get some different tips for it.  Personally I think that 60 watts is a little too hot for the board especially if you have not soldered before.  You run the risk of lifting the traces off the board with a big iron. 

You also will want a good conical tip (pencil tip) for doing parts on the boards and a good chisel tip for bigger things.  Or get a 40 watt iron with a conical tip and also buy a 100 watt gun type iron for larger stuff.  They are cheap on eBay and easy to find.  The bigger gun will also work great for wires for tinning and applying lugs.

• Like 1