Light-O-Rama Forums

Reccomendation

RaceMedic

As always ... thank-you for all the help for the newbie here.

I would like to know what people suggest to the following.

I have 2 peaks to my house .. a 14' peak and a 10' peak.

I am looking at building a track that will hold 2 strings of C9 sockets. This way I can just bolt them to the facing of the house, where there is no eves trough. Makes for easy installation, and take down, as well as storage.

Looking at the diagram attached .... I was wondering what would work out better. To have the sockets within the track, making the track thicker, or to have the socket outisde the track, keeping it thinner. I was thinking that having the sockets in the track will keep the bulbs from flopping forward.

Thank-you for your time.

Dave

Attached files 201004=11173-Lights.jpg

I agree with your assesment of putting the socket inside the track. I see it as support for the light and no weight on the cords.

No advice for you Dave, but I'll be following along to see what kind of track you end up with. I need to come up with something similar for the front of my house to hold C9 strobes.

I was thinking plastic down pipe from an eaves trough .. it comes in brown which is the same color as where it is going to be mounted.

I was thinking I could cut it in half, mount everything and them tack them together with some screws.

Thinking I may go to our local Home Depot and try a template.

I will post pictures when I do.

Dave

I think I remember reading somewhere, that someone used siding "J" channel to accomplish this. With that in mind I am not sure how the lights fit into the track but it might be something to look into.

Greg;

I looked at J channel and unless it comes in a bigger size than I can find locally it is too small for the C9 bulb.

The socket is 1 1/4" in depth.

I will double check into the J channel.

Thanks,

Dave

Guest Don Gillespie